About the Ministry

The Ministry of Transport and Communications of the Republic of Lithuania (hereinafter referred to as the Ministry) is the executive authority.

The mission of the Ministry is to develop secure transport and communications services that meet the needs of society.

The vision of the Ministry is an integral, secure and innovative transport and communications system for society.


The principal operational goals of the Ministry are to shape public policy, as well as organise, coordinate and oversee its implementation in the following areas:

1. the functioning of the transportation system and the development of all-mode transport infrastructure;

2. carrying passengers and freight by rail, road, sea, inland waterways and air;

3. road safety for all types of vehicles;

4. combined transportation, transit and logistics;

5. electronic communications and post;

6. the development of information society and state-owned information resources;

7. the transportation of dangerous goods by road, rail and inland waterways as well as related areas.


The Ministry is headed by the Minister of Transport and Communications.

The Ministry is composed of five departments and seven independent divisions. In QIII 2017, the Ministry employed 137 civil servants and 32 employees working under employment contracts.

Three special attachés delegated by the Ministry of Transport and Communications – two transport attachés and one telecommunications and postal services attaché – are working at the Permanent Representation of Lithuania to the European Union (in Brussels). One transport attaché is working at the Diplomatic Mission of the Republic of Lithuania to the People’s Republic of China and one attaché – at the Diplomatic Mission of the Republic of Lithuania to the Republic of Kazakhstan.

21 enterprises, institutions and companies are under the regulation of the Ministry.

Last updated: 06-12-2017