The presidency of the Council rotates among the EU member states every 6 months.  During this 6-month period, the presidency chairs meetings at every level in the Council, helping to ensure the continuity of the EU's work in the Council.

Lithuania held the Presidency of the EU Council from July to December 2013.

Member states holding the presidency work together closely in groups of three, called 'trios'. The trio from 2019 is made up of the presidencies of Romania, Finland, Croatia.

Council presidencies up to 2022:

Romania: January-June 2019

Finland: July-December 2019

Croatia: January-June 2020

Germany: July-December 2020

Portugal: January-June 2021

Slovenia: July-December 2021

Last updated: 18-11-2023